Writing on an Iron Stomach (10 Days to 20k, Day 5)

IMG_1597

In sixth grade, my mom came as a volunteer to my school and taught everyone in my class how to touch type. I have no idea if this is a skill still taught these days. It smacks of secretarial pools, but I gotta say it’s been invaluable in my lifetime. It means I wrote papers at school faster than my classmates, and it’s meant turning out reports on time at work, even when the crunch is on.

More importantly, it means I can type in a moving vehicle without puking my guts out, because I can look around, even as my brain and my fingers are generating stories.

Key skill. If you’re a writer on the go, learn it. If you’re one of those people who gets motion sick just thinking about this idea, I am very sorry. I don’t know how I would cope.

I said a couple days ago I would talk about my planner. I meant to do it yesterday, but I was covered in family, so there wasn’t really time for me to do it properly. I did mention yesterday that I’ve been part of Shaunta Grimes’ Ninja Writers community for a little over a year and a half. Shaunta’s tools have been invaluable to me, and one of the things she swears by is an Erin Condren LifePlanner. I try to keep my life organized on my phone, but as I stared down the barrel of finishing two books in the next twelve months, I knew I was going to need something to keep all my thoughts and ideas together.

I looked at the LifePlanners, but I admit they’re pricey, especially once you work in the exchange rate to my Canadian dollar and the cost of shipping. But, lo and behold, I was at my local bookstore a couple weeks ago, and didn’t they have knock off LifePlanners with all the pages I needed!

img_1567.jpgReader, I bought one. I thought the cover was appropriate as I launch my baby writing career.

The inside goes from August 1, 2017 to December 31, 2018. I doubt everything will be written, edited, and published by then, but I’ll be well on my way. Each month gets a calendar-at-a-glance page where I keep track of daily word counts, important dates (publisher deadlines, conferences, days I know I’ll get no writing done), and then there are note pages for each day where I can make notes to my future drafting self and editing self on things I need to remember. Sometimes they’re little things like what colour are Sebastien’s eyes????,  and other times they’re more weighty questions like what the hell is the point of this scene???? Either way, they’re good to have in one place.

How do you keep yourself organized?

We spent about six hours in the car today. I hit over 4,000 words. I’m starting to think I should have set a higher goal. 10 days to 30k? Can we do it?

10 Days to 20k Summary
Day: 5
Words Written Today: 4,049
Total Words Written: 14,798
Words Left: 5,202
Percent Complete: 74%

Leave a Reply

