On the Road (10 Days to 20k, Day 4)

20525952_1827568790891004_6562911098027768361_n.jpg

Short day today. We hit the road early to spend the day with family in Stratford, one of Ontario’s theatre meccas. Fortunately, my chauffeur likes driving. I had to marry to get him to drive full time, but it meant I squeezed in a few words.

A year and a half ago, I met Shaunta Grimes. She’s a multi-talented writer and teacher. Her theory is that you set small goals and do it every day. 10 minutes. 500 words. I knew today wasn’t going to be a big word day, so I told myself to just try to write 500 on the drive. The nice thing about small goals is they’re easy to hit, and often times by the time you’ve hit them, you’ve picked up some momentum and want to keep going. I’m going to need more than 500 words a day to meet my goal of getting this draft done by October, but on the days when I know I won’t write much with mitigating circumstances, hitting a small goal makes me feel like I’ve still accomplished something.

What’s one small goal you can set?

10 Days to 20k Summary
Day: 4
Words Written Today: 1,073
Total Words Written: 10,749
Words Left: 9,251
Percent Complete: 54%

Leave a Reply

