Terrible Short Stories (10 Days to 20k, Day 3)

clock-1461689_1920

I gotta say, I’m really loving the Pomodoro timer. It means I write and don’t think about time, if that makes sense. The iPad does it for me, which gives me more brain room for words.

Ray Bradbury recommends writing a short story every week for a year, because it is impossible to write 52 terrible short stories in a row.

Today’s words definitely fall on the not-so-great side of terrible, but not every day can win you a Pulitzer. The point is, I showed up and moved the story forward. Seb even asked Martin on a date! Martin of course totally misread the signals, but what’s a romance without a little delayed gratification? We are well and truly into the mushy middle and there’s nothing written that can’t be fixed in edits.

More importantly, I’m well over 9,000 words so far in this challenge. Almost halfway in the first three days. I’ve got family commitments tomorrow, so I might be a bit short in the word count department, but at least I prepared for it!

I’m going to talk a bit more about preparation and accountability tomorrow though, because tomorrow is August 1 and I get to bust out my shiny new project planner!! I never thought I’d be so excited about a coil bound calendar, but somehow this is my life.

10 Days to 20k Summary
Day: 3
Words Written Today: 2,609
Total Words Written: 9,676
Words Left: 10,324
Percent Complete: 48%

Leave a Reply

