10 Days to 20K

adult-2398561_1920

Okay, now that the “oh my god, they’re going to publish me!!!” dust is settling, it’s time to buckle down and do some work. Here’s the deal:

The Red Creek Series

3 standalone m/m romance titles. Red Creek is a fictional small town somewhere in the American Northeast. Book 1 is done (or is in draft and is going to the publisher next week for editing). Book 2 is due by the end of the year. I’m currently about 30,000 words in. Your average romance novel is 60,000 to 80,000, so that sounds like I’m almost halfway, right?

Wrong.

First off, I write long. Book 1 was 128k in its first draft form. I wrote another first draft last year that was 125k. It just takes me a damn long time to get my first act written as I get to know new characters and figure out what makes them tick.

Second, I’ve been writing slow. I started Book 2 at the end of April. With my usual goal of 3,500 words a week, I should be somewhere around the 50k mark by now.

But then June happened.

I stage managed a play in June. Technically I worked on it from December to June, but June was when the shit hit the fan and I mostly stopped writing.

Community theatre is this awesome and awful thing that sounds like a good idea when it starts, gets increasingly horrible for the duration of rehearsals, and then ends with this cathartic bang as the show goes up and everything comes together through the magic of theatre. But those last few weeks were tough. I was exhausted, emotionally and physically. I was working my way towards functional alcoholism and the creative juices were just not flowing when it came to other outlets.

The weekend before the show, I was ready to quit, but of course you can’t actually do that. I was working with friends, and no matter how exhausted you are, you don’t quit on friends.

So I told myself to keep going. On the Sunday night before our dress rehearsal, I looked at the calendar. I had five days to go and then the show would be a distant memory.

You can do anything for five days.

So I did. And it all worked.

I’m ready to test that theory again. Double down on the experiment, as it were.

Tomorrow is my last day of work before my summer vacation. I’m off for ten consecutive days and, in fact, have very few plans, other than a family day on Tuesday and then a trip to visit my parents.

I can do anything for five days. Even write 2,000 words. Every day. And then I’m going to do it again. I’m off for ten days, and I’m going to write 20,000 words. It will hopefully kickstart this story, and get me back on track to finish a first draft by Thanksgiving (the Canadian one).

I’m also going to blog (sometimes briefly) for ten days, mostly to stay accountable, and also to share any flashes of inspiration I have as I go.

You can do anything for ten days too. But hopefully you’ll follow along as I go.

One thought on “10 Days to 20K

  1. Pingback: August Rundown | Allison Temple Books

Leave a Reply

